View Print Catalog

Reading Instruction
& Assessment

Best selling, research-based resources for effective reading instruction and assessment.

ATP Assesments
Standardized Tests
for Pre-K through Adult


Shadow Lands Series: Levels 1, 2, 3

Thirst, Coven and Blackwings three sets of five stories in the Shadow Lands multi-reading-level series, designed for struggling or reluctant readers in middle school and high school who need more practice with commonly used vocabulary.

The reading level increases across the series of fifteen stories. There are five stories per reading level and are available as individual 48-page books or as a Collection in a single 224-page bound book. t includes all five stories.

All fifteen Shadow Lands stories feature male and female teenage characters and contemporary stories that students can relate to, including events at school, family issues, and relationships.

Each level exposes the reader to an additional amount of the most frequently used words in the English language. Thirst (Vampires), Coven (Witches), and Blackwings (Demon Hunters) each have a different group of main characters, and can be read independently of the other levels, although students who read all three levels may discover some interesting connections!

About the Stories:

In the Thirst stories, Lilly and David are vampires. That's a hard secret to keep, especially when you're pretending to be normal high school kids. Lilly is really 200 years old. David is 18, but his old friends don't know he's a new vampire. Will Lilly and David be able to keep their secret?

In the Coven stories, Jane, Grady, Tamsin, James, and Emily are witches. They meet at Coven House to practice magic, and to stay safe, and keep others safe from the Dark Ones. The Dark Ones are witches, too. They want power, and they will do anything to get it.

In the Blackwings stories, All around the city, people are getting sick, and accidents are happening. Most can't see what's causing the problems, but the Blackwings can. They see the Shadow Demons. Gabe is a college student, the oldest demon-hunter still fighting. Alexis is a high school student who wanted to be left alone, but hunts demons as part of a team. DeAndre is the latest to realize what's going on, and it cancels the big plans he had for his life. The Shadow Demons are attacking. They eat the life out of people. They must be stopped.

Reading Level

Interest Level

Levels 1-3

Ages 11-18


Item No.






Shadow Lands Series (Levels 1, 2, 3)
Thirst, Coven, Blackwings -15 stories/15 books



Shadow Lands Series Collections (Levels 1, 2, 3)
Thirst, Coven, Blackwings - 15 stories/3 books


See Also... (Sold Separately)


Item No. / Product Title



Shadow Lands Level 1: Thirst



Shadow Lands Level 2: Coven



Shadow Lands Level 3: Blackwings


  ©2018 Academic Therapy Publications. All rights reserved worldwide.   |   Top
"Leaders in High Interest/Low Level Readers and special education products since 1965"